VP – Research

I have heard all the tales, all the horror stories, the complaints. Believe me I know that they are true and I sympathise. Yes there are some wrong ones. I am not one of those.

I do not see my job as selling houses. What I am selling is dreams and aspiration. Really, I am selling the future. I am good at it, I listen, I understand, I empathise.

I like to find out as much as I can about my buyers and sellers. On my desk I have a framed card:

 “To understand how customers really think and feel, it is vital to go beyond words.”

Older couples downsizing, young couples starting out, I have helped them all.

If you said to me “Keith, you can only sell one more house, who would you sell it to”. I have thought about this and you know what, a young family, that is my choice. There is nothing more satisfying than a happy family, a laughing child. I miss that.

Me, well I have a bedsit. I do not need any more than that. Once the access rights are sorted, I might need to find somewhere bigger. A man can hope, eh!

What I like to do is build trust, confidence. I say “Look you just go out. Leave it to me, when you come back, I will have all the measurements, all the details.”

Once they are gone I like to inspect all the rooms, I concentrate on two areas. The kitchen, everyone is eating less meat these days. Then the bedrooms, opening a drawer here and then. Early days, I just looked. But the temptation, the feel of silk or lace against the skin. The smell of soap and perfume and sometimes something more carnal.

I have been taking a souvenir or two for a few months now, sometimes I leave a little something.

I have Mr and Mrs Simpson’s house on my books at the moment. They came in today, Mr Simpson said he was off on business for a few days. If there was any interest I should contact Mrs Simpson, Michelle, direct.

I will pay her a visit tonight. I know which is her side of the bed, the right, which is their bedroom. There is a loose floorboard on the landing, and the third stair from the top creaks.

In the end, one way or another, research always pays.

Leave a Reply

