The Cruel Sea – 3

This received via carrier seagull

“Today we passed through the Pillars of Hercules, or as they say in Spain, the Pillars of Hercules. We are now in the Mediterranean, home of myth and fable.

We now enter the region I most dread, the Italian food zone. Luckily I have a couple of Barbary Macaques left, they should last me for a day or two.

This morning at the all day buffet I was chatting to a man who told me that he and his wife were looking forward to seeing Italy.

Genoa, I asked.

Of course he said, I’m married to her.

That was a joke told by the comedian as part of his act at the Broadway Style Cabaret last night.

I didn’t think it was funny, but Mrs Lieutenant Colonel (Welcome to the New Brunette) almost wept with delight, as though it were the funniest thing she had ever heard.

However when I told her the Jamaica joke later, she accused me of being racist and made me sleep in a lifeboat.”

Leave a Reply

